Monday, September 7, 2015

Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer, Book Review

General Information
Genre: YA
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Published: May 19, 2015

Book Summary (Per Goodreads)
From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and co-writer, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and magical relationships.
 
Sixteen-year-old Delilah is finally united with Oliver—a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale. There are, however, complications now that Oliver has been able to enter the real world. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to take Oliver’s role in Delilah’s favorite book. In this multilayered universe, the line between what is on the page and what is possible is blurred, but all must be resolved for the characters to live happily ever after. Includes twelve full-color illustrations, and black-and-white decorations throughout.
 
Full of humor and witty commentary about life, OFF THE PAGE is a stand-alone novel as well as a companion to the authors’ bestseller Between the Lines, and is perfect for readers looking for a fairytale ending. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot are sure to appreciate this novel about love, romance, and relationships.

My Thoughts
This book was cute and fun to read.  I enjoyed learning about the characters and trying to imagine how hard it might be adjusting to a 3d versus 2d world, one where the lines aren't always given to you , etc.  But I enjoyed the lessons that were in this book even more, such as when Oliver was asked that didn't people outside of the book live in their own version of a box? weren't there rules that still applied?

I did have a hard time getting into some of the story because of how fairy tale (esq) it is (and how many of the decisions were somewhat predictable), but I still enjoyed this book immensely.  I thought it was sweet how the book went through the ups and downs of teen romance, teen clicks, high school, family love and more.  I read the first book Between The Lines (review here) and then moved onto this book.  I think you could read each one individually, but I am very glad that I read them in the right order because I felt it really made the relationship between Delilah and Oliver more real and strong.

I loved the ending and the happy ever after that many of the characters received, but I am curious about how or if there will be another story for Delilah's best friend and Edgar.  We shall see!

Important Links

Links to Purchase


Until my next post..love y'all!

Disclaimer:  I borrowed this book from the library.  All thoughts and opinions are my own!

No comments:

Post a Comment